Do you wanna build a snowman?

Yes I do!  I want winter, but that is not what this post is about!

Sometimes I feel when kids are on summer vacation there brains turn to mush!  I know for myself it kind of does! Shhh don’t tell the teachers!  So now when I babysit I am going to teach them something!  This time I started with the states!  We learned five states and one capital!  They moaned and groaned, but they did really well!  I was impressed!

I just printed these off the web!  Google USA printable!

The blue was the five states and the one green was the capital!  Every time I will add five new sates and one new capital!
The blue was the five states and the one green was the capital! Every time I come I will add five new sates and one new capital!

We did two science experiments out of his book!  He wanted to do some out of HIS book so bad!  They were challenging and needed materials that normal people don’t have, but I manged to find two!

Here is the book!

The book!  It's neat!
The book! It’s neat!

Number 15: Materials needed: Mint-o-green life savors and a dark room

All you do is put a mint in your mouth in a dark room and bite on it really hard and you should see sparks!  Or at least you should see your teeth light up!  I didn’t get a picture of this!  This was suppose to show you how Benjamin Franklin made electricity!  They don’t really care about what there is to learn about the experiment they just want to do it!

Number 29: Materials needed:  16 pop corn kernels, stove, frying pan, baking oil, stop watch, paper and pen!

What you do is heat oil in a frying pan and then put the kernels in the pan! Then start your stop watch and when eight out of the sixteen kernels have popped yell for the other person to write down the time!  Then eight, then four, then two, and then 1!  It is really hard to write down the times because it is so fast so this experiment was dull except it was fun to pop pop corn!  Beware they go everywhere!

I was to busy when the experiment was in full force, so sorry for the poor picture!
I was to busy when the experiment was in full force, so sorry for the poor picture!

Then he left for summer school, so we could have some girl time!  She LOVES Frozen so I got some Frozen activities!  The first one we did was make an Olaf night light!  It didn’t turn out well because I don’t have too much artistic skill, but it was kind of cute!  I used a glow stick for the lighting!

Website I Used!

Hey, I am Olaf!
Hey, I am Olaf!

Then we had a snack that kind of failed, but who doesn’t want to eat marshmallows and chocolate chips?  I used tooth picks to keep them together!  Cut a marshmallow in half for his feet!  I used my own creativeness for this project!

He kind of looks creepy, but anyways!
He kind of looks creepy, but anyways!

Next she made Olaf out of paper and I think that turned out cute! It kept her busy!  I used brads to keep it all together!

Lots of fun Frozen worksheets can be found here!  You can just google Frozen activities and get a lot of worksheets!

Aren't they both cute?!
Aren’t they both cute?!

Next she did a maze and she said it was easy!  I like to print off those kind of things for when I clean up lunch or something like that!

It looks pretty challenging to me!
It looks pretty challenging to me!

Until her brother came home she painted!  She is a really good artist!  🙂

:)
🙂

After he got home we did an inside scavenger hunt!  I love scavenger hunts!  It is a lot of fun!  The winner got a piece of candy…I am such a good health advocate aren’t I?

Website I Used!

He won!  There was a lot to find in 20 minutes!
He won! There was a lot to find in 20 minutes!

Then they wanted to do the “torture” cootie catcher!  They both had a hard time with theirs!  I am glad they used their powerful brains a little though!  He had to write something nice for his mom and she had to do something nice for her brother!   Let me tell you!  They struggled, but I loved the outcome!

His creation!  I don't know where he put!  Hopefully she liked it!
His creation! I don’t know where he put! Hopefully she liked it!
Isn't that cute??  She put her picture in his book he reads at night!
Isn’t that cute?? She put her picture in his book he reads at night!

The last thing we did was a fail!  We tried doing duct tape wallets, but to say the least I am not very good with reading directions!  No I didn’t take any pictures!

Unless you have lots of patients don’t do this project!

We didn’t get through everything, but still had fun!

Thank you for stopping by!  Please feel free to share!  I would appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

